

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT DALLAS, CHAPTER 316

CONTACTS

Chapter President
Dr. Andrew J. Blanchard

President-Elect

Past-President
Mr. Rafael O. Martín

Treasurer

<u>Dr. Edward J. Harpham</u>

VP Scholarships and Awards

Dr. Douglas C. Dow

Secretary
Mr. Blair Flicker

VP Alumni Relations
Dr. Susan W. Jerger

VP Initiations & Traditions

Dr. Abby R. Kratz

VP Student Outreach
Dr. Anthony Champagne

VP Community Service
Dr. Karen J. Prager

VP Programming & Special Events

Dr. Mary Jo Venetis

Spring 2015 Graduate Induction Ceremony Concludes

Fifty-four Graduates and Nine Faculty, Staff and Alumni Join the Ranks

Chapter 316 conducted its graduate student induction ceremony on Tuesday, April 7 in the McDermott Suite. PKP chapter members attended the event in full regalia as per tradition. Fifty-four graduate students were inducted into the Society this academic year.

Chapter President and Dean of Undergraduate Education Dr. Andrew Blanchard welcomed the assembled inductees and their families. Past-President and Associate Vice President for Research Rafael Martin informed the audience of the selection criteria for invitation. This year, nine distinguished faculty, staff and alumni were inducted into the Society: Dr. Poras Balsara, Dr. James Coleman, Dr. Gene Fitch, Dr. Varghese Jacob, Dr. Eva LaDow, Dr. Dennis Miller, Dr. Alex Piquero, Dr. Monica Powell and distinguished alumni Dr. Cynthia S. Sherry.

Dr. Blanchard took the podium again to introduce the keynote speaker, Dr. Cynthia S. Sherry. Dr. Sherry, a diagnostic radiologist, is Chairman of the Department of Radiology at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas and has also served as President of the medical staff and a member of the hospital's Board of Governors. Dr. Sherry also serves as Medical Director of Body MR and CT at Southwest Diagnostic Imaging Center, where she has been on the management committee since 1994. Dr. Sherry is immediate past president of SIIS. Dr. Cynthia Sherry serves as the President of the American College of Physician Executives and also served as the 2008-2009 President of the Texas Radiological Society.

- continued on page 2

Spring 2015 Graduate Induction Ceremony, continued

Blair Flicker, Assistant Provost and chapter Secretary, took the podium to explain the values of Phi Kappa Phi as symbolized by the gifts of membership. Dr. Edward Harpham, chapter treasurer, announced each candidate by school while Dr. Hobson Wildenthal, UTD Provost, and Dr. Blanchard presented each inductee with their honor cord and pin. Dr. Blanchard then called the inductees to affirm their membership by reciting the Phi Kappa Phi oath. Dr. Wildenthal spoke to the new inductees before Dr. Denise Paquette Boots, founding chapter president, provided the closing remarks.

Let the love of learning rule humanity!



Keynote Speaker: Cynthia S. Sherry, MD

Dr. Cynthia Sherry, a diagnostic radiologist, is Chairman of the Department of Radiology at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas and has also served as President of the medical staff and a member of the hospital's Board of Governors. Dr. Sherry also serves as Medical Director of Body MR and CT at Southwest Diagnostic Imaging Center, where she has been on the management committee since 1994.



Dr. Sherry is immediate past president of SIIS. Dr. Cynthia Sherry serves as the President of the American College of Physician Executives and also served as the 2008-2009 President of the Texas Radiological Society.

Dr. Sherry attended medical school at the University of Texas Southwestern Dallas. She completed her residency in Diagnostic Radiology and a fellowship in Magnetic Resonance Imaging at Baylor University Medical Center Dallas. She is certified by the American Board of Radiology and is a Fellow of the American College of Radiology and of the American College of Physician Executives. Dr. Sherry earned a Master's degree in Medical Management from Carnegie Mellon University in 1999. She was chosen as one of the "Best Doctors in Dallas" in 2001 - 2008.

Source: Radiology Associates (www.radntx.com)

Scenes from the Graduate Induction Ceremony



Chapter 316 Earns Chapter of Excellence Award

For a third year in a row, The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi has recognized UTD Chapter 316 as a Chapter of Excellence, the highest commendation a chapter can receive. The Chapter of Excellence award was bestowed upon twenty-nine chapters across the United States. This award is granted to chapters that maintain active, thriving organizations. The UT Dallas chapter, established in 2011, was recognized again as a thriving organization that holds annual initiations, maintains an active social media presence, offers multiple nominees for national and local fellowships and awards, and sponsors events which include an annual luncheon and the Honors Convocation.

The ongoing support of President David E. Daniel and Provost Hobson Wildenthal has been critical to the success of the chapter, as are the efforts of chapter executive committee member Dr. Douglas Dow, associate dean for the Honors College, for managing the chapter's Cantrell Academic Travel Grants and for the success rate of students applying for the national Phi Kappa Phi Fellowships. The chapter now has inducted 838 members since its inception.

UTD Students Earn Spring Awards

Two UTD students have earned Phi Kappa Phi awards for spring 2015. Keri Schoenemann, a senior in Speech Pathology and Audiology, earned a \$1,000 Study Abroad grant. Phi Kappa Phi Study Abroad Grants are designed to help support undergraduates as they seek knowledge and experience in their academic fields by studying abroad.

Bruna De Melo Tavares, who graduated UTD with a bachelor of science in Psychology and Child Learning and Development, earned a \$500 Love of Learning award. Love of Learning Awards help fund post-baccalaureate studies or career development for active Phi Kappa Phi members. These awards can be applied toward graduate or professional studies, doctoral dissertations, continuing education, career development, travel related to teaching or studies and so on.