2018 SACSCOC Faculty Committee Meeting Minutes August 9, 2016 (2:00-3:00pm) AD 3.108A

Attendees: Murray Leaf (chair), Nicole Piquero (vice-chair), John Barden, Christine Dollaghan, , Todd Fechter, Lev Gelb, Karen Huxtable, Tim Redman, Meghna Sabharwal, Marilyn Waligore

Absent: R. Chandrasekaran, Candice Mills, John Sibert, Jillian Duquaine-Watson

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Murray Leaf at 2:03 pm.

II. Work Update on Principles

A lead person was identified for each of the principles.

2.8 Faculty Waligore

3.2.8 Qualified Administrative/Academic Officers

Redman

3.2.9 Personnel Appointment

Sabharwal

3.4.10 Responsibility for Curriculum:

Gelb.

Professor Gelb will name one committee person from each school to provide a narrative (paragraph or so) describing the way programs are organized in their school, and another for how the program material is brought together for the Associate Dean at the school level.

3.4.11 Academic Program Coordination

Committee members contributing paragraphs to Professor Gelb for 3.4.10 will make up this committee. Leaf will coordinate.

3.5.4 Terminal Degrees of Faculty

Sibert

3.7.1 Faculty Competence

Piquero

3.7.2 Faculty Evaluation

Dollaghan

3.7.3 Faculty Development

Huxtable

3.7.4 Academic Freedom Leaf

3.7.5 Faculty Role in Governance Leaf

III. Meeting Schedule

- Each subcommittee should have their drafts completed by: Sept 1, 2016.
- Professor Redman has volunteered to proofread all drafts.
- All committee members should read the drafts beginning on Sept 2, 2016 and make suggested changes to each subcommittee.
- A doodle poll will be sent out by Murray Leaf to determine the next meeting after everyone has reviewed all subcommittee drafts. Target is week after September 1.

IV. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 3:07pm.