2018 SACSCOC Leadership Team Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, January 26, 2016 1:30PM BBS Dean's Conference Room, JO 4.306

I. Attendees:

B. Hobson Wildenthal, Inga Musselman, Serenity King (Chair), Kim Laird, Clint Peinhardt, Marilyn Kaplan, Josh Hammers, Mary Jo Venetis, Nicole Leeper Piquero, Jessica Murphy, Joanna Gentsch, Vy Trang, Simon Kane, Ryan Dorman, Caroline Ries

II. Approval of Jan. 13, 2016 meeting minutes

Nicole Piquero motioned to approve, Clint Peinhardt seconded the motion. There were some revisions to the minutes to include the Group 2 committee recommendations. All in favor – minutes approved.

III. Announcements

Lunch and Learn Q&A Session Schedule

These Q&A sessions are specific to accreditation/reaffirmation. The first session will be on February 5 with EPPS, A&H, BBS, and IS. Serenity, Jessica, and Ryan will be the speakers. Leadership team members are invited to their school-specific session.

Fall 2015 SACSCOC Report

The report is available online. In order to view the report, the reader must login with their UTD netid and password. All the assessment plans and reports will be accessible in the report.

Dr. Neal Armstrong Visits

Dr. Neal Armstrong is reviewing the reports and plans (in detail) with Dr. Gloria Shenoy. He will visit campus at least twice in Spring 2016 to meet with the Schools and discuss some of the gaps that are in the assessment materials.

Dr. Belle Wheelan Visit

Dr. Belle Wheelan will be visiting campus in March 2016 to see how the campus has grown.

ACTION ITEM: Finalize reaffirmation committees with nomination acceptances and a kickoff event prior to or at the end of her visit. If members have any suggestions for the kickoff event, email Serenity King, Vy Trang, or Mary Jo Venetis.

ACTION ITEM: Next meeting will focus on reviewing SACSCOC policies.

IV. Formation of Reaffirmation Committees Nominations

<u>Financial and Physical Resources and Information Technology Committee</u> Nominations

- Naomi Emmett Office of Administration
- Dr. Denise Boots
- Rafael Martin
- Beth Keithly
- Beth Tolan

ACTION ITEM: Serenity will check how SACSCOC classifies Title IX.

Faculty Committee Nominations

- Dr. Murray Leaf Chair and lead on writing of response
- Dr. Lev Gelb
- Dr. Nicole Leeper Piquero
- Dr. Ravi Prakash
- Dr. Noah Sasson or Dr. Candice Mills
- Dr. Varghese Jacob
- Dr. John Sibert
- Dr. Meghna Sabharwal
- Dr. David Channell
- Dr. Todd Fechter
- Dr. Erin Smith

Learning and Student Resources Committee Nominations

- Josh Hammers
- Amanda Smith
- Dr. Mary Jo Venetis

- Dr. John Jackson
- Kimshi Hickman
- Jennifer McDowell or representative
- Darren Crone or representative
- David Crain or representative
- University Library representative
- Cristen Casey or representative from International Center
- Dr. Vladimir Dragovic

Josh Hammers gave a brief summary of the organizational structure of Student Affairs.

Mission, Governance, and Administration Committee Nominations

- Dr. Mary Jo Venetis
- Serenity King
- Dr. David Cordell chair
- Colleen Dutton or HR representative
- HOP Committee Chair
- Timothy Shaw
- Dr. Richard Scotch

Institutional Effectiveness Committee Nominations

- Dr. Lawrence Redlinger or representative
- Serenity King
- Dr. Gloria Shenoy
- Dr. Catherine Parsoneault
- Dr. Kamran Kiasaleh or Mette Posamentier
- Dr. Kustal Dogan
- Dr. George Fair

- Michele Hanlon
- Dr. Theodore Price
- Dr. Kurt Beron
- Lauren DeCillis
- Rafael Martin
- Kim Winkler
- Environmental Health and Safety representative
- Pete Bond
- Cheryl Friesenhahn
- Toni Stephens or representative
- Dr. Marilyn Kaplan

Steering Committee Nominations

- Sue Sherbet

Program Committee Nominations

- Jennifer McDowell
- 2nd Registrar's Office representative
- Dr. Paul Diehl
- Dr. Jennifer Holmes
- Dr. Eric Farrar or Dr. Monica Evans
- All members of Graduate Council
- All members of Committee on Undergraduate Education (CUE) including the offices that are represented at CUE meetings
- Dr. John Gooch Committee on Educational Policy (CEP) representative
- Serenity King

Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Topic Selection Committee Nominations

(This committee will meet for a short period of time to select the QEP topic. The QEP Council will be involved in the implementation of the QEP topic.)

- Dr. Jessica Murphy
- Ryan Dorman
- Rajadhar Reddy
- Student Government representative
- Dr. Rebecca Files
- Dr. Walter Voit
- Kyle Edgington or representative
- Dr. Gene Fitch or representative
- Dr. Kim Laird (until Chief Budget Officer is hired)
- Katherine Morales
- Student Outreach and Academic Retention (SOAR) or Director of Advising
- Dr. Eric Farrar

ACTION ITEM: Nominations will be compiled and emailed by Serenity, Mary Jo or Vy to the Leadership team members for approval by Wednesday, January 27. Serenity will meet with Dr. Richard Scotch, Dr. Timothy Redman, and Dr. Murray Leaf and discuss the team nominations and additional nominations. Mary Jo will draft an email to be sent to the committee nominees that will detail what they are being asked to do on the committees and if they are willing to participate. Once nominations are secured, the kick-off event can be planned to coincide with Dr. Belle Wheelan's campus visit.

ACTION ITEM: Mary Jo and Serenity are working on a newsletter with information about the reaffirmation.

After the Lunch and Learn Q&A Sessions, there may be a better sense on how the reaffirmation should be communicated to the university community.

V. Meeting Adjourned