2018 SACSCOC Leadership Team Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, January 13, 2016 10:00AM Lonestar Conference Room, AD 3.104

I. Attendees:

B. Hobson Wildenthal, Inga Musselman, Serenity King (Chair), Kim Laird, Clint Peinhardt, Marilyn Kaplan, Josh Hammers, Mary Jo Venetis, Nicole Leeper Piquero, Jessica Murphy, Joanna Gentsch, Vy Trang, Simon Kane, Ryan Dorman, Caroline Ries

II. Approval of Dec. 11, 2015 meeting minutes

Nicole Piquero motioned to approve, Clint Peinhardt seconded the motion. All in favor – minutes approved.

III. Announcements

Evaluator Registry

The list of memberships on the evaluator registry has been updated so that UT Dallas now has 9 possible evaluators. Gerry Burnham, Associate Provost and Professor in ECS, will serve as an evaluator at the reaffirmation of the University of Alabama -Huntsville in Feb. 2016 and will share his experience upon his return.

ACTION ITEM: If any members are interested to serve as an evaluator, let Serenity know and she will add their name to the registry next year.

ACTION ITEM: For next meeting - finalize committees and start discussing SACSCOC policies. Members need to visit <u>http://www.sacscoc.org/policies.asp</u> and become familiar with how the policies interact with what the leadership team does.

Institutional Obligations for Public Disclosure Policy

When this policy was introduced 2 years ago, it required institutions to have a website where institutional outcomes are listed. UT Dallas created a website listing the institutional outcomes using the existing outcomes website that Communications had. A section was added that linked to UT System's Productivity Dashboard and in particular, UT Dallas' section on the dashboard.

FR 4.1 Student Achievement – SACSCOC is looking for all the information in Principle 4.1 to be on the website but also incorporated into institutional goals.

ACTION ITEM: There needs to be a more appropriate place to list the outcomes, expand the website, and incorporate into a stand-alone, non-UT System-driven institutional outcome.

IV. Preliminary Recommendations

Group 1 (Kim Laird, Nicole Leeper Piquero, Marilyn Kaplan, Jessica Murphy, Mary Jo Venetis):

The group reviewed some peer institutions that have recently or are going through the reaffirmation process as well as UT Dallas' last reaffirmation. The group's proposal and rationale is located in the meeting packet (see Item 4C).

A question was asked: Is the separation of undergraduate and graduate education committees a common division at the other universities that were reviewed? Answer: Yes, it was.

The group recommends 13 committees (including the subcommittees).

Group 2 (Joanna Gentsch, Josh Hammers, Clint Peinhardt, Inga Musselman, Serenity King):

The group used area institutions as a model that have large institutional effectiveness teams that conduct annual updates to accreditation writing. The group recommends 9 total committees: Leadership; Steering; QEP; Governance, Mission, and Administration; Faculty; Institutional Effectiveness; Learning and Student Resources; Financial and Physical Resources; Curriculum; and Programs and Instruction. Distance Education must be addressed in the principles. The writing groups are embedded within the committees.

UT Austin is also undergoing reaffirmation. Their review dates are the same as UT Dallas'.

The first draft of the CCR would consist of the removal of information that is no longer needed/relevant, updating weblinks, and outlining additional sections for current practices

Faculty Principles should be pulled out and they should be specifically assigned to a committee. It was recommended that Dr. Murray Leaf chair that committee.

ACTION ITEM: Group 2 will email a summary of their preliminary recommendations to the team after the meeting.

The final committee structure:

- 1. Leadership Team
- 2. Steering Committee
- 3. Mission, Governance, and Administration Committee

- 4. Programs, Curriculum Instruction Committee (with Undergraduate Education and Graduate Education subcommittees)
- 5. Institutional Effectiveness Committee
- 6. QEP Committee
- 7. Faculty Committee
- 8. Learning and Student Resources (including library) Committee
- 9. Financial and Physical Resources and Information Technology Committee

QEP council should include a small number of people that are on the other committees. Preferably, the council consists of a different group of people so they can focus on the QEP. The council should also include a representative from Communications, Staff Council, community members (UG and GR alumni), and a representative from Dr. Redlinger's office.

For the Steering Committee, ECS and NSM representatives need to be included. Gerry Burnham, Sue Sherbet, Josh Hammers, and also a representative from Toni Stephens' office are suggested.

Group 2 recommends that the committees have 50% new representation.

ACTION ITEM: Ryan and Serenity will create a spreadsheet with the principles assigned to the each of the committees, combined with the list of the committee members from the last reaffirmation that are still at UT Dallas. Also included will be an updated personnel listing (new staff/personnel in the same positions i.e. Dean Blanchard replaced Dean Coleman) and the 2007 committee charges. The spreadsheet will be emailed to members the week of Jan. 18.

ACTION ITEM: Each team member will recommend personnel for each committee and send their recommendations to Serenity. The recommendations will be collated and handed out at the next meeting. The committee memberships will be finalized at the next meeting so the information can be shared with the faculty senate leaders.

V. Meeting Adjourned